Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Bruce V. Avatar
Bruce V. Bruce Varty
Lakewood, WA, USA   USA
Well its apart and am ready to remove the one low piston.
Question # 1, in the Haynes Manual it calls for using Glass Paper to roughen the hard glaze... is that Wet/Dry paper?? Cant find anyone selling Glass Paper.

Question #2, once I have the piston out is there markings on the existing rings to tell me what size they are??

Sales by trade, mechanic is my new vocation!!!!!!!!!!!

I am a bit nervous about this stage in the process,

Thanks
Bruce

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
tapkaJohnD Avatar
tapkaJohnD John Davies
Lancaster, Lancashire, UK   GBR
Bruce ,
Not seen this story before, so please explain.
One bore with low compression, do you KNOW its the piston and why?
If the head is off, you can't do an oil test to see if the valves are OK, but a close inspection may tell.

Glaze busting can be done with Wet'n'Dry, but you need small hands! Tools are available, in the form of a Bore Hone - see http://mgaguru.com/mgtech/hydraulics/ht205.htm for an MG article in how to use one - or a Flexhone, aka 'bobblebrush' - see http://www.brushresearch.com/flex-hone-instructions.php - that are far easier.
They are used with an electric drill set to low speed. Well lubricated, you move the tool up and down in the bore. The objective is a criss-cross pattern of light scratches on the wall at 45 degrees to the vertical. to retyain sump oil while the rings bed in.

Ring sizes depend on overbore size. Presume you are not going for a rebore, so standadd size, but if there is any lip at the bore top, make sure you get a top ring that is chamfered.

JOhn

Greg1835 Avatar
Greg1835 Greg S
Rudolph, WI, USA   USA