TRExp

Spitfire & GT6 Forum

Hoping to test drive a 1980 w/OD next Saturday...

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

SevenAmerica Avatar
SevenAmerica John Donohoe
Williamston, MI, USA   USA
... so what should I look for?

I do know a bit about the fundamental Spitfire/GT6 platform (I basically restored a 1970 GT6+ from a basket case) but I have no experience whatever with the overdrive option... I basically get how it functions, but is it one of the things where it simply works or it doesn't?

It's a 1980 with less than 60,000 miles on it. Other than drive the car and see that it goes into overdrive in 3rd (It think?) and 4th, any tips of what to look for relative to the overdrive?

Oh, and do folks usually just use it on 4th at highway speeds, or does anyone even use it on lower gears?

I DO know not to try to put it in reverse w/OD engaged... and with that in mind, is there any way to tell (besides the switch) if the OD is actually engaged or disengaged?

If someone could point me to a basic user guide for the OD on a 1980 Spit, that would probably be the most efficient :-)

Thanks!

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Tonyfixit Avatar
Tonyfixit Tony M
Duncan, BC, Canada   CAN
The O/D on that car would be a 'J' type (not that that would make a noticable differance from your perspective, unless the O/D and transmission was fitted from an earier car with reverse up by 1st gear)

In operation O/D should only be switchable in 3rd or 4th gears, and will 'cut out' when lower gears are selected.
This can be disconcerting if you come to a stop in O/D, then pull away. You may find yourself when going up through the gears from direct 2nd into O/D 3rd.

The O/D should switch in quickly and decisively. Speed of engagement is dependent to a degree, on road speed (not engine rpm) so, off hand O/D would not normally be engaged below about 30mph in 3rd or 40mph in 4th.