Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

gadams Silver Member Gerry Adams
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA   USA
Just found http://ccts-inc.com/SPITFIRE/Dash%20Templates.htm
Where pdf files of AutoCAD drawings of the patterns for wood instrument panels for 1971 Spitfire are posted.
My plan is to cut a new dash from purpleheart wood using a AutoCAD-file-programmed computerized huge table gig that functions as jigsaw, router and more. So i used a large scanner and created digital images of front and back sideviews of the three parts of the wood dash.
Using Illustrator I converted those eps images into DWG and DXF images to load into AutoCAD.
But i have never used AutoCAD before and fortunately ran into AutoCAD drawings downloadable as pdf on the CCTS link above!!!
Wow. Cannot wait till the woodturners are back from holidays!
Has anyone done this before using a computerized cutting table?

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
2398B3AC-131C-4BAD-A43D-09C71FCAE9CE.jpeg    46.9 KB
2398B3AC-131C-4BAD-A43D-09C71FCAE9CE.jpeg

472190D8-FDCD-4F3E-9943-B6DD4138C4B5.jpeg    12 KB
Sign In or Register to view this photo
MHKflyer52 Avatar
MHKflyer52 Martin Keller
Ventura, CA, USA   USA
Hi Gerry Adams,

If you have the files created in Inventor you should save a copy as an STL file or IGES file so the CNC Router / Jigsaw you have access to can except the file. I am also fairly confident that your machine will also be able to accept the DXF file you have created in Inventor. I do not think your machine will be able to read a PDF file but one never knows.

Later this week when I get back to my office I will see about making a SolidWorks drawing file for each section of the dash as this is something I have been considering doing for a while and did not think to check on this forum to see if anyone had already accomplished this.