AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

TR6 No Spark at plugs
  This topic is about my 1976 Triumph TR6
GeorgeC George Calcagnini
Palm Coast, FL, USA   USA
1976 Triumph TR6 "Charlie"
Well here I am. I am stumped. 1976 TR6 with breaker point ignition just stopped running on A1A, didn't do much other than remove the cap, poke around, and after about 30 minutes, looked in the dizzy again, and it started and ran well all the way home. That was the last time it started. I checked points, condenser connection, plug wire resistance, etc... and here's where I am 1 day later - nowhere. I have a solid dwell of 38 degrees, and all connections look good on the low voltage side. When I remove the center high voltage distributor wire and hold it near the dipstick handle I get a nice and regular spark. (btw, I tried a new coil). So I tried to test timing even though I am sure the dizzy wasn't moved...when I connected the timing light to plug #1, I had no light at all.... So I removed plug #1 wire and inserted a bolt into metal connector in the rubber grommet and held it up to the dipstick handle and got no spark at all...then I did it in the dark to be sure...still no spark. Resistance of the plug wire #1 and the others I tested was less than 1k Ohm. I spoke with Advanced Distributors this AM and he had me test to see if the rotor was grounded. It is not. Tested with ohmmeter first, then held the center high voltage wire to the rotor, no spark...so it is not grounded. I have new cap(s) and rotor(s) on order from Advanced Distributors. Currently have a Lucas cap and a red Advanced Distributor rotor. No sign of physical damage to either. My only conclusion is that the center dizzy cap plug is not touching the rotor to convey the spark to the plugs. or it is open circuited - it tests OK for continuity with ohmmeter. If the center wire has spark, how can it no be distributed in the cap??? I would appreciate any other things I could try while I am waiting here for new