Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

kayjh Joel K
Winnipeg, MB, Canada   CAN
Hello All,

So, I was putting my hubs and half shafts back in today and unfortunately, one of the studs in the aluminum swingram is stripped. I don't ever recall over tightening this nut, but in any event, it will need a thread insert. All of the rest of the studs are fine. I've never done this type of a repair before.

Can anyone tell me what size and thread the stud is, what size helicoil I'll need and what size I will need to drill the new hole to insert the correct helicoil?

Ideally I'd like to just fix this one hole and leave doing all of them for a winter project. Do I need to remove the brake backing plate to do this or can I do the repair with it in place?

If I get a list of what I need, hopefully I can collect everything at local parts store tomorrow afternoon and have the car back together by evening. smiling smiley

Thanks,

J

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
poolboy Avatar
poolboy Ken D
Sandy Hook, MS, USA   USA
5/16-24 (.469 long) helicoils with a 7/16-14 bottoming tap and a 21/64" drill bit will get it done.

ZS carb repairs
kencorsaw@aol.com

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2018-05-25 09:59 PM by poolboy.

kayjh Joel K
In reply to # 1535850 by poolboy 5/16-24 (.469 long) helicoils with a 7/16-14 bottoming tap and a 21/64" drill bit will get it done.

Thanks. Do you know if there is a Helicoil kit for that size?

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
poolboy Avatar
poolboy Ken D
There is at NAPA AUTO PARTS, down here in the US.

ZS carb repairs
kencorsaw@aol.com

kayjh Joel K
In reply to # 1535858 by poolboy There is at NAPA AUTO PARTS, down here in the US.