twomanytriumphs Avatar
twomanytriumphs Gold Member Kyle Darby
Kelso, WA, USA   USA
1965 Triumph TR4 "My Baby"
1966 Triumph 2000 MkI "Bessie"
1970 Triumph GT6+ (MkII) "The Princess"
1977 MG MGB
Hi all,

Pulling apart a spare motor today and can’t seem to get the right rear head stud to break loose from the cylinder head? This is the stud back by the heater control valve. 6 studs have come out of the block, but the other 4 seem stuck right now. More wondering why THAT stud seems to seize? In 07 when I pulled my Tr4 apart it was seized as well. Thanks Kyle.

. Hide this ad & support a small business by becoming a Gold Supporting Member
Was this post helpful or interesting?
Yes No Thank
Sarastro Avatar
Sarastro Steve Maas
Long Beach, CA, USA   USA
There are lots of ways to remove seized fasteners, and I'm not an expert at it, so I'll let others suggest options. However, I do recommend one thing: start with the easiest, least aggressive methods, then progress to more violent ones.

You asked about one specific stud, but then said that four rear ones are seized. If so, that includes two of the recessed ones. You need to be very careful with those, as you can't risk breaking one inside the block.

Here is what I did recently, for what it's worth: http://www.nonlintec.com/tr4a/engine/#preparations

Yes No Thank
Geko Avatar
Geko Stef SG
Kuala Lumpur, WP, Malaysia   MYS
The engine is slightly tilted backward. Rust and crud accumulating towards the rear of the engine is a known issue. Suffice that your head gasket was leaking from the waterways for a prolonged period of time for water to stagnate round the studs. The rest is chemistry I suppose.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2019-02-25 03:10 PM by Geko.

Yes No Thank
alex3rail Avatar
alex3rail Sean Alexander
Waterloo, IA, USA   USA
Be patient.

I agree with Sarastro "start with the easiest, least aggressive methods, then progress to more violent ones".