Visit our Twitter feed for more great content
TRExp

TR2 & TR3 Forum

Any issues putting a TR4 OD gearbox in a 60 TR3a?

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

brucejon Avatar
brucejon Gold Member Bruce Jones
Santa Cruz, CA, USA   USA
1960 Triumph TR3A
1963 Triumph TR3B "Tupperware TR3"
1969 Triumph Spitfire MkIII
1972 Triumph TR6
I understand it just bolts in Is this the case?

60 TR3A (red), 62 TR3B project, 72 TR6, 69 Mk3 Spitfire EU setup
https://spitfiremk3.wordpress.com

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
RJCox Avatar
RJCox Ronald Cox
Fredericksburg, VA, USA   USA
Bruce, I'm not an expert, but I believe my Dad's 61 has a tr4 OD tranny in it. He also has a tr4 non OD tranny that he says should bolt right onto my 60 powerplant.

Differences I see off the top, speedometer cable needs to be longer, shifter arm on the 4 is bent vs straight on a 3, and if course the switch. I think the shifter can be swapped and the speedometer cable is readily available.

Others more well versed will chime in I'm sure.

I've really thought about finding a 4OD tranny before I'm done and doing the swap. They're not cheap or just laying around, so stock it is for me for awhile.

TR3driver Randall Y
Confusion, Los Angeles, USA   USA
Pretty close. The 4 synchro box is just a bit longer than the 3 synchro, so you should modify the frame crossmember to let the rear mount sit farther back. Sorry I don't have a good photo

In my case, I also had to bend the lip on the back of the crossmember back just a bit, so it didn't hit the gearbox. That may or may not be an issue for you.

Also pay attention to where the speedo cable goes through the opening on the side of the trans tunnel. I had to grind away just a bit of the sheet metal but again YMMV.

It seemed like the speedo cable was getting damaged from rubbing on the edge of the floor too, so I added a length of split fuel line as protection.