starting engine after 10 years sitting?

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

still weldin Dwayne Wiebe
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada   CAN
I was going to pull plugs and squirt Marvel mystery oil in, let sit for a couple of days, turn crank by hand a couple of times and give another squirt. Thought I'd drain , drop and clean oil pan and remove all sludge. Remove gas tank, swish around with new gas and drain, "try" to purge fuel lines with clean gas(any thoughts), change filters and add new fluids. Then attempt to turn over and after oil pressure is built up, connect coil and try to start my Dream.......any thoughts? I'm no mechanic, just want to do it right and minimize any damage.........

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
racer490 Jerry Bryant
Palm Harbor, USA   USA
Sounds like a plan New plugs and wire? Points condenser

Mark Jones Avatar
Close to Sarnia, ON, Canada   CAN

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
TDHoward Tracy Howard
Radford, VA, USA   USA
1971 Triumph Spitfire "Was "rusty", Now "Spitty"
1980 MG MGB MkIV "Emma Peele"
A couple of things are going to depend upon how it was "stored".

IF it was simply turned off, most likely you'll find the carb(s) have varnish/goop in them. At the very least drop off the float chamber to be sure the needle is free.
After ten years of sitting the diaphram in the carb(s) may be brittle. Carefully take off the dash pots and have a look. Ensure your needle isn't stuck in the jet.

A good spray type carb cleaner will remove most varnish and free things up considerably.

You'll probably find the same thing in the fuel lines. the best solvent for this stuff is fresh gas. if you can remove your fuel lines at the pump and blow back the old stuff with compressed air, you're good.