The all-new Front Page News Feed is now live   Read the announcement
TRExp

Spitfire & GT6 Forum

won't rev - unless I back off the accelerator..

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

rvmeisen Avatar
rvmeisen Ron M
Loganville, GA, USA   USA
All,

just got a 72 Spitfire MK IV, my first so I'm new to them. it's an Early 1500 with a stromberg, Pertronix ignition, been sitting for a while but cranks well, idles a little rough.

It runs up through the gears fine except if I push too far on the accelerator, it bogs. If I back off it takes up and runs up as far as the throttle will allow.. I checked the oil in the damper and it was down, filled it with 20 wt but no real difference.

pretty sure the ignition / timing / advance is good because if I back off throttle, it goes fairly well. not saying they are perfect, just not the thing holding it back this time.

what's the best place to start?

Thanks
Ron

. Hide this ad & support a small business by becoming a Gold Supporting Member
Was this post helpful or interesting?
Yes No Thank
Falkon Avatar
Falkon Al Martin
Appleton, WI, USA   USA
Change the fuel filter first.

Yes No Thank
rvmeisen Avatar
rvmeisen Ron M
Doesn't have one that I can see, not anywhere from the tank or between fuel pump and the Carb.. Is there a filter in the Tank itself?

I didn't think so..

(I'll add one when we get this sorted though..)

Thanks

Yes No Thank
carChips Avatar
carChips Victor Harnish
Kelowna, BC, Canada   CAN
1933 MG Magnette
1973 Triumph Spitfire 1500 "Chip"
1989 GMC Sierra 1500 "Bush Truck"
90% of carb issues are electric. Never assume, always check. Start with the timing.

'S all for now
Vic

Yes No Thank
Outfect Avatar
Outfect Dave B
La Sal, UT, USA   USA
1940 Ford N Series Tractors "Henry"
1951 Other Not Listed "SnowMan"
1979 Triumph Spitfire 1500 "White October"
1980 Triumph Spitfire 1500 "Tangerine Dream"
Ronald,