Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

holymolyitsclay Clay B.
Louisville, KY, USA   USA
Hello everyone!

This is my first post on this forum - I just acquired my grandfather's 1975 Spitfire and am very excited about it. He bought it in 2002 when I was 10 years old, and had always promised that I would inherit it someday. That day has finally come and I am thrilled to be in possession of a car that meant so much to my grandfather for so many years.

He restored the car over about 3 years, then parked it, driving it every so often and starting it up about once every couple of weeks. His health started deteriorating about 7 years ago, and the car hasn't been touched since that time.

I trailered the car back to my garage last Saturday, and have been working on it every night since. I have quite a bit of experience with working on cars and older Honda motorcycles from the '70's, but this is my first time touching a car from this era. There is a pretty steep learning curve, but I am really enjoying the process and how much there is to learn from working on these cars. I cannot wait until I get this thing in running order again so I can drive it by his nursing home and show him the car. I know he'll be absolutely thrilled!

Onto my issue:

When I got the car, first thing I did before trying to start it was change the oil/filter, new spark plugs, new battery, change out old gas for new gas, tried to start it up. Cranks over great but not starting. First thing I checked was that fuel was getting to the carburetors. Looking directly into the carb with the choke open, I see gas on one side of the carb but the other side is empty. Seeing this, I sprayed starter fluid into the carbs and tried to start it - no dice.