Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Bpt70gt Avatar
Bpt70gt Brian T
Westmoreland, NH, USA   USA
Here is an old topic but I got a question from a fellow forum member about 3D printing this part. The part in question is the door handle control rod in 71 and up Spits and GT's. Evidently this is part that is known to break after 40 years. I've looked at the part in pictures only and I could 3D print it but it still would be a plastic part and the way it would have to be oriented on the printer there is the possibility of layer separation after awhile. So strength would be an issue. However, as a machinist I don't see a big issue to make the part from brass. My 70 GT doesn't have this type handle so I haven't put my eyes on one in my hand. Is this a non-issue these days or should I put this on my list of projects to make a few of. I understand that there is a LH and RH that would need to be made. I'd draw it up on CAD and go from there. I've read that they break through the small hole and where shown in the picture I pulled from an old forum topic. Always looking to see what kind of mischief I can get into.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
GT6 mk3 door rod.jpg    9.6 KB
GT6 mk3 door rod.jpg

Greg1835 Avatar
Greg1835 Greg S
Rudolph, WI, USA   USA
I've wondered why this part isn't available. You can buy replacement complete handle assy's, so SOMEONE is making this thing but it just isn't offered by itself. I wonder if whoever manufactures the complete assy couldn't be persuaded to sell a supplier a batch of these parts.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2018-02-01 03:17 PM by Greg1835.

Bpt70gt Avatar
Bpt70gt Brian T
You'd think so but if companies like Rimmers and Moss and others can't get them then maybe the demand isn't there. The won't go through the hassle and then have parts sit on the shelf.