Spitfire & GT6 Forum

MIG Welder

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

vancouver, washington, USA   USA
I am considering the purchase of a MIG welder. There is a great variation in prices, features, etc. Mainly for sheet metal repairs. As I have three TRs (read broke) , economy is an issue but functionality is also important. BTW I have very little welding experience but I did stay at a Holiday Inn.
Mike C

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
byakk0 Avatar
byakk0 Hazen Wardle
Boise, Idaho, USA   USA
Obviously look for bargains, Craigslist ect. I got a Lincoln 110v 135 for about $200, included a bottle and regulator. It needed the fan replaced but I did that myself.

Avoid the harbor freight Chicago electric welders, even though they have an excellent price point. You can find similar entry level Lincoln's at Lowe's and home Depot but at about twice that price.

Checkout YouTube channel weldingtipsandtricks.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
~Hazen.

Yellowhawk Valley Avatar
walla walla, washington, USA   USA
1969 Triumph Spitfire "Walla Walla"
1969 Triumph Spitfire "Portland"
1972 Triumph Spitfire MkIV "Spokane"
1975 Triumph Spitfire 1500 "Dayton"    & more
I'm with Hazen on this. My little 110v Lincoln wire unit works very well on sheet metal and even up some thicker stuff. It was a little more new but is a very good unit. The cheap ones will work like a cheap one.
Dan

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
carChips Avatar
carChips Victor Harnish
Kelowna, BC, Canada   CAN
1933 MG Magnette
1973 Triumph Spitfire 1500 "Chip"
1989 GMC Sierra 1500 "Bush Truck"
Whatever you get, get one with shielding gas.

'S all for now
Vic

SpiTazz72 Avatar
SpiTazz72 Bryan H
Magnolia, Texas, USA   USA