Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

czehner1 Avatar
czehner1 Silver Member Charles Zehner
Littlestown, Pennsylvania, USA   USA
Hi, I'm a newbie, I bought a '78 Spitfire (56K miles) with an aftermarket hardtop about three weeks ago. When the prior owner dropped it off I drove it around to the garage and parked it. I went to start it yesterday and it just turns over, but does not start. Prior to attempting to start the car I had put a Lucas distributer cap and rotor on, new plugs gapped at 40 (I put them back to 25), new gas filter, and cleaned the outside of the carb so I could actually see what type, Weber. When it wouldn't start I put the old distributor cap and rotor back on, no luck. I had re-gapped the plugs to 25. I had a larger gap since it has an electronic ignition. Looking down the carb, if I move the throttle I see gas squirting in so I figure not a fuel issue. I went out and picked up a spark tester and put it on one of the plug wires. It lights up initially when turning the key and lights up when I turn the key off. I would have expected the spark tester to flash ever time the rotor hit that plug wire. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Oh, I did use starter fluid. Thanks, Charlie

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Pats54 Avatar
Pats54 Gold Member Mark M
Maynard, Mass, USA   USA
1979 Triumph Spitfire 1500
2012 Volvo C70 "The Weekender"
Charlie this may seem stupid but is the rotor spinning?

The reason I ask is I just had a no spark issue and that was the cause
I had left the dizzy bracket lose to set the timing and headed out for a ride
Not that I had gotten that far.

Quick fix but worth a check.

Greg1835 Avatar
Greg1835 Greg S
Rudolph, Wisconsin, USA   USA
Did you have to start it to drive it to the garage or was it never shut off when delivered? Not that he would try and pull a fast one on you or anything, but ........