Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Sneaky Pete Avatar
Sneaky Pete Silver Member Pete Passon
Mooresville, Indiana, USA   USA
Hi all! I purchased a '65 Spitfire over the weekend. Car ran great on the 15 mile drive home. Took the car out last night and it started rough...as if the battery was worn down. Drove a few miles and parked in the driveway. Attempted to start it and the battery was dead. Jumped it and she fired right up. I'm new to the British cars but know they can have electrical gremlins. I'm not sure if something is draining the battery when off but I'm leaning that way since it started right up with a jump. Or could it be a bad alt? The car has an aftermarket radio. I noticed a red light on it just before I put the car cover on it. Could the radio be the culprit?

Thanks in advance! I'm have had German cars for over 15 years and looking forward to learning about this Spitfire.

Pete

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
grubscrew Avatar
grubscrew grub screw
The suburbs of, Winfield, Maryland, USA   USA
Sure, a radio that draws constant power can drain a weak battery.

Sure, a weak alternator can poorly charge a battery...and by the way your 65 would have a generator not an alternator unless it was converted.

PS- why does your profile say the car is a 1970?

PPS- welcome aboard. Posting photos is mandatory for admission!

Dave
1970 Spitfire Mk3
FDU 78359L
34/11 (Jasmine yellow/Black interior)

1962 Triumph TR3B
TCF 575L
Signal Red/Red interior

70spit Jon B
Camas, WA, USA   USA