Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Kitchener, Ontario, Canada   CAN
Hi everyone,

This is my first time on the Forum.

I have a 1976 Triumph Spitfire with 33,000 miles. It is still the original paint and vinyl interior. I recently replace the original muffler with a Moss Motors factory look-a-like. It is considerably louder than the original as well as having an annoying drone at cruising speed. Any suggestions?

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
TheBomb Avatar
TheBomb Chris Gill
Toronto, Ontario, Canada   CAN
1975 Triumph Spitfire 1500 "The Bomb"
Go to an exhaust shop?

Yellowhawk Valley Avatar
walla walla, washington, USA   USA
1969 Triumph Spitfire "Walla Walla"
1969 Triumph Spitfire "Portland"
1972 Triumph Spitfire MkIV "Spokane"
1975 Triumph Spitfire 1500 "Dayton"    & more
They must have sold you a "performance" muffler with most of the muffles taken out. It may be necessary to have a shop install a small resonator up stream from the muffler.
Or find another owner that wants that noise and do a trade.
Dan

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
lef2wander Avatar
lef2wander Gold Member James Thomas
hatfield, ma, USA   USA
I have a magna flow universal. Its loud though.

I have a resonator it doesn't drone.

So no matter what you need a resonator.
Which one is a ????.

Do you have one?
How about the gt6 right out of the catalog.
Something in stainless probably would give a better sound overall.

Manana Avatar
Manana Steve Wten
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada   CAN
Hey Don, welcome to the Forum, '76 eh, nice year, especially if it's mostly original, congrats on the purchase.

Some guys have added resonators mid-way back if I recall. (I got distracted before posting this so I'll second what Dan said)