Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

nick Avatar
nick nick m
Bend, OR, USA   USA
After the car sits for awhile I get a brake warning light. The fluid is topped up and the brake pedal is firm. After driving for about 10 min the light goes out. I though it might be air in the master. I have a bleeder on the master but am not sure what the bleeding procedure is. I did open it and pressed on the pedal but almost no fluid comes out but the light goes out. I have done this twice. Today, after not using the car for about 4 days I found the pedal soft to the floor. I again tried to bleed the master but no fluid came out after 70 pedal pushes. Next I will try to bleed it from the rear brake. Any suggestion on what this could be?

nick

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
kansanbrit Avatar
kansanbrit Phil H
Bonner Springs, KS, USA   USA
1952 MG D-Type Midget
1964 Morris Mini-Minor
1980 Triumph TR8
1980 Triumph TR8 "TR8 Holley"    & more
If no fluid comes out with bleed valve open then maybe your flexible brake hose has collapsed inside...

nick Avatar
nick nick m
Bend, OR, USA   USA
I bled the rear and no bubbles. The right front had quite a bit of air. Nothing much out of the left front. But now they are firm again. But the mystery is how does this happen? The brakes were working perfectly before my description of the sequence in the original post. I do recall from another event (not a TR7/8) where the master kept introducing air into the system and the brakes were soft until the master was replaced.

nick

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Darth V8R Avatar
Darth V8R Vance Navarrette
Beaverton, OR, USA   USA
1980 Triumph TR8 "Wedgie"