1980 TR-7 AC Delco Coil/Distributor Issues

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

tomzale Thomas Zale
Arlington Heights, IL, USA   USA
Im a newbie to this forum. My wife has this great car but it aint going anywhere fast. Its a 1980 TR-7 with the AC Delco Coil. My problem is that this part is no longer available anywhere. Replacing the part would be the simplest solution so if anyone knows where I could get one, let me know. If not Ill have to do a conversion as outlined in the article. Im looking for anyone who may have done such a conversion to work with my mechanic to get this puppy up and running. I would of course like to keep the original distributor if at all possible but at this point Im open to suggestions.

Tom Zale
tom@evergreenfinancialpartners.com

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
529623564.jpg    55.5 KB
529623564.jpg

530820826.jpg    51.6 KB
Sign In or Register to view this photo
TR7_SU_Conversion.pdf    609.9 KB
Sign In or Register to view this photo
dhuddleson Avatar
dhuddleson David Huddleson
Manotick, ON, Canada   CAN
It might be a good first step to clean all the mounting and electrical power and grounding points. Maybe that is not the fault, but start simple...

The most common TR7 Delco ignition failure I am are of is the electrical module inside the metal housing of the coil, where that wire plugs in from the top left of the first photo. The module underneath is a Delco module that is the same (or similar enough) to ones used on a variety of GM cars through the 1970's and maybe into the 80's. I don't have better information, but maybe someone else will enlighten us. This module is not very expensive to buy, so you may get running again easily!

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

To add your reply, or post your own questions

Registration is FREE and takes less than a minute!