Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

RacingDreamz Avatar
RacingDreamz Ben Jones
Mountain City, Tennessee, USA   USA
I just got in a 1979 TR7. It came with a bunch of spare parts as well as a new rebuilt(Rimmer Bros rebuilt kit) engine. My problem currently is the running of the engine that's in the car. It has a terrible miss when cold(have to use manual choke). At idle, it's rough, wont barely run. But once it's on the road, it pulls great. And it's smooth running. It puts out a lot of black smoke which tells me it's flooding real bad. I'm not a mechanic by any means and really dont know of any close by that could work on a British car. So, what are my options? Should I get a carb kit from Moss Motors or someplace like that and try to do it myself or what? Oh, the car needs a paint job really bad too. No rust, new suspension and bushings and brakes in the front and rear. So it handles just fine. It's just real ugly and a terrible miss. Not sure what to do with other engine though, yet. My switch or sell it.
Any advice, suggestions or comments, are welcome. smiling smiley Thanks

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
DSCN1854.JPG    52.2 KB
DSCN1854.JPG

DSCN1855.JPG    54 KB
Sign In or Register to view this photo
DSCN1848.JPG    66 KB
sliproc Avatar
sliproc Kevin Quistberg E
Long Beach, california, USA   USA
Ben,

A miss is usually a timing or an ignition issue and black smoke doesn't always indicate carb problems. Why don't you do a compression test then check the timing before you start tearing the carbs apart. That will give you a general idea of the condition of the motor and might even solve the problem.

RacingDreamz Avatar
RacingDreamz Ben Jones