Suspension bushes Polly or not?

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

coupe  948 downunder Avatar
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia   AUS
I have just checked the front and rear passenger side brakes and they look like new shoes all around to me and no leaks from the slaves either, anyway wheels now turn easily so after a quick cuppa with the wife I will go down and do the other side. which I expect will be just as good. That said I have a question for other Triumph owners namely I want to replace the suspension bushes which all look a bit old and perished so do I get the original type or are the poly bushes better? I have polly bushes in my Clubbie and they do seem to work well for that but I have no experience with the Herald suspension.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Herald948 Avatar
Herald948 Andrew Mace
East Nassau, upstate NY, USA   USA
"Poly" covers a lot of territory, in both firmness and in quality. Personally, I'm not a fan, preferring the original type rubber bushes when I do have to replace same. But then, I've managed to collect a decent personal supply of NOS rubber bushes.

Also, from what I've seen over the years, the bushes don't necessarily need replacement simply because they're approaching 60 years old! A bit of deterioration where the rubber is most exposed is to be expected, but the bush might still be fine.

Oh, and then there's the issue of poor quality rubber in some repro OE-style rubber bushes. So you pay your money and take your choice...just don't shop on price alone, whether you go OE-style rubber or poly. Go for known brands from known good suppliers, and be sure to ask questions of the suppliers and of other Herald owners.

Hope that helps...and I know others might have slightly different opinions! grinning smiley

http://www.fairpoint.net/~herald948/database/

Tonyfixit Avatar
Tonyfixit Tony M
Duncan, British Columbia, Canada   CAN