Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

arturo64 Avatar
arturo64 Arthur T
Billings, Montana, USA   USA
so i'm new to this exact forum, i usually just use the Spit/gt6 forum. anyways, i have a 68 spit i've decided to dedicate to racing fun. i want it to stay functional as a car as well as it will be used for the handful of SCCA solo races held here in my hometown. after my first race i realized my suspension was in need of change so i went with lowered and uprated springs in front and new shocks(nothing fancy) i also scored a camber compensator for the rear(also new shocks in back but nothing fancy) that really helped a ton but i was still tucking just a little bit(as told by fellow racers) and i was pulling a rear tire off the ground and thus loosing drive. so now i'm thinking i should lower it an inch or so in the back with a lowering block. i'm hoping to make one.

big question, would it be crazy to use a 3.89 diff??? i found that i could have dang near stayed in 2nd the whole time, never "feeling" the need to shift up, BUT i was spinning the crap out of my engine. going over 4500(which was happening alot) seems excessive for a weekend racer that i don't want to rebuild at the end of each year. i'm not to concerned with over all speed/acceleration, but rather cornering as fast as possible. thoughts?

Arthur
68 spit
70 gt6+

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Triumph Racer Avatar
Triumph Racer Patrick N
south bend, IN., USA   USA
1962 Triumph TR4 "My First Triumph"
1962 Triumph TR4 "Big Red"
1964 Triumph TR4 "Ugly Duckling"
1971 Triumph Spitfire MkIV    & more
You did not say what diff you are running now? I assume from your statements and year of car it is a 4.11?

Sometimes you succeed,other times you learn.

arturo64 Avatar
arturo64 Arthur T
yup, standard 4.11.

Arthur
68 spit
70 gt6+

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <