Normal oil pressure

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

jordan k Jordan Kurtin
Toronto, ontario, Canada   CAN
Im new to TR6 s just bought my first one, a 73. I am wondering what the normal reading on the oil pressure gauge is at idle and around 3000 rpm. Mine drops to around 20 psi at idle and seams to reach about 50psi at 1/2 throttle. It climbs as high as 60psi, but I have not had the engine above 4200 rpm.

Thanks
Jordan

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
DerekM Avatar
DerekM Silver Member Derek McAllister
Toronto, ON, Canada   CAN
Those are the same readings as my '74, which has a non-rebuilt 95k mile original engine.
Are you running 20w50 oil?

Derek McAllister
Toronto, Ontario
1974 TR6 Sapphire Blue/Shadow Blue

jordan k Jordan Kurtin
I believe so. The oil and filter were changed just before I got the car. The spare bottle in the trunk is 20w-50. The engine has about 95,000 showing on the odometer , but who knows how off that is. Burns no oil just leaks it. Ha Ha
Jordan
CF7443UO

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Tonyfixit Avatar
Tonyfixit Tony M
Duncan, British Columbia, Canada   CAN
If you have over 10 psi per 1,000 rpm when hot* consider it OK.

* Hot will be after aprox 30 mins at highway speed using an xxW-40 or xxW-50 weight oil.

Rex A Lott Avatar
Rex A Lott Steve Kincaid
Newcastle, Washington, USA   USA
1976 Triumph TR6 "Trix"
You’ll notice much higher pressure w cold engine. This is normal. My engine acts the same. 50-60 PSI cold while revving.
Note your engine has an oil pressure control valve. If your pressure ever jumps (way) above 60 you need to replace this valve ASAP.

Tote Tony M
Kingston, Ontario, Canada   CAN