Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Wheel13 Mark W.
Los Angeles, California, USA   USA
Hi all,

I've been ignoring the odor of gasoline in my garage for several months now but since the smell has started to make my eyes water I figured it was time to take a closer look at my 74 TR6. I'm seeing gas around the choke on both carbs, more on one than the other, but it's not dripping, even with engine running and moving the choke in and out. When i bought the car a year ago, I had the seals and gaskets replaced in both carbs. So my question is, where to start looking? The needle valves which were not replaced?

Thanks all; as always, appreciate the help.

--Mark

(P.S. It's running fine.)

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
rjc157 Avatar
rjc157 ralph c
pearl river, new york, USA   USA
It's probably the valve if the car sits for awhile some varnish might build up from the gas and the valve gets stuck I think you have no choice but to take them off and clean everything

poolboy Avatar
poolboy Ken D
Sandy Hook, Mississippi, USA   USA
Have you tried tightening the 2 screws ?

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Wheel13 Mark W.
Ralph and Ken,

Thank you. Ken, forgive my ignorance, but what screws are you referring to? It's a little intimidating looking at this.

Many thanks!

Mark

poolboy Avatar
poolboy Ken D
If you have ZS carbs, the choke component is attached to body of the carb with 2 screws where you see the holes in this picture.

Attachments:
STARTER BOX 001.JPG    45.9 KB
STARTER BOX 001.JPG

rjc157 Avatar
rjc157 ralph c
pearl river, new york, USA   USA
Since you never stated where it is leaking from from the choke maybe that nut is loose

poolboy Avatar
poolboy Ken D